A Year Later…

Standard

For those who haven’t read the events leading up to the birth of a “The Girl Who Couldn’t Eat Anything” began about a year ago last October when I found out that I had to give up whole groups of things that I was used to eating.

Not only was I shocked, but it’s been a roller coaster of a year trying to figure out how to have a divided kitchen, helping my daughter go gluten-free, and wondering if I would ever be able to eat some of my favorite foods or not.

I went from longing to eat bacon, cheese, and roast chicken to being resigned to my fate and back again. As I started feeling better I wondered if I would ever go back to eating the way I used to if I could. I was pretty convinced that I wouldn’t. I mean I love vegan recipes and they are so yummy. I am not completely convinced about not eating animals, but I know they are terribly mistreated in most cases. Now that I know how they are treated I would hate to be a part of that kind of system. Eventually I would like to try some farm raised animals as my budget allows.

I had a checkup a few weeks ago with my chiropractor. I am actually in good health overall. I asked about adding in some meat or something like that and she said that since I’m doing so well the way I’m going that I should just stick with the status quo. I was quite disappointed.

She did suggest adding in some probiotics and I started with GoodBelly. I liked the way it made me feel and it was helpful with my gut health, but I did not like the price and I hated the taste. Then I had the chiropractor test me on Kefir. Amazingly I found out I can consume up to 2 ounces of Keifir per day. I am so excited! Kefir is 99 percent lactose free and I have been excited to feel the results. I have had success in using plain Kefir occasionally as a substitute for buttermilk in some recipes. Amazing results!

I also found out I can have butter! I had forgotten the stupendous taste of butter and I am excited to be able to use it again just in time for Christmas cookies! As I continue to heal and am able to eat more foods it makes me curious as to what exactly caused the breakdown in my digestion. Was it a break down in my immune system with a large serving of stress added on or am I just extremely sensitive to GMOs? Does any of this have to do with the vaccines I was given as a child? Some interesting thoughts as I reflect on the year past and look towards to future.

Here’s to a year with yummy, easy to fix food that doesn’t make us sick to our tummies!

6 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on The Curious Introvert and commented:
    I am so proud of my daughter and how she has been coping with her multiple food allergies. For awhile, every week it seemed like something new cropped up that caused more pain. She was beginning to fear that she’d soon be on (gluten free) bread and water. In this post, she charts her journey and some victories.

    Like

  2. I recently purchased Goodbelly and found it to be extremely helpful in my gut health as well. I was a bit hesitant since it has less than 2% oat flour in addition to barley; however, it seems like it is the only thing that works for intestinal health. I am on round two so I will see how it goes.

    Like

    • Interesting! They didn’t have the gluten free variety where you shop? My husband really liked the regular kind, but I didn’t even try that because of my gluten sensitivity. I do love kefir though! I can even use plain kefir to bake!

      Like

      • The local grocery chain I got it from is called Kroger but I didn’t think to check Whole Foods. Good call. I thought about Kefir but not quite sold on it. Reminds me Acai juice and not a fan of that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

