The 12 Days of Christmas Vacation

Standard
Getting ready to deliver presents to the neighbors on Christmas Eve!

Getting ready to deliver presents to the neighbors on Christmas Eve!

Growing up I thought the 12 days of Christmas was just a goofy song. My mom probably kept the whole 12 days of Christmas quiet because sometimes there was a little too much excitement at our house! Now I know there actually are 12 days of Christmas. Christmas starts on December 25th and ends January 5th. Although I still can’t manage to keep my Christmas decorations up until Christmas is over I do enjoy listening to Christmas music and other Christmas activities up through the last day.

This Christmas was the first Christmas break from school for the Princess. I had no idea how much school had changed our life until we were home together through thick and thin for two weeks straight. Almost all our Christmas parties and get togethers happened the week BEFORE Christmas (!) plus it rained a lot so we didn’t even have the option of going to the park most days. Here is a small glimpse into what happened during Christmas break.

On the first day of Christmas break my daughter

ate 12 Christmas cookies for breakfast.

On the second day of Christmas break my daughter

had an organizing spree right before bedtime.

On the third day of Christmas break my daughter

had some random and unexpected meltdowns.

On the fourth day of Christmas break my daughter

surprised me by making new friends.

On the fifth day of Christmas break my daughter

got some kind of tummy bug.

On the sixth day of Christmas break my daughter

acted like a grown-up at the doctor’s. (A first!)

On the seventh day of Christmas break my daughter

tried to get in a hug to everyone in the congregation at church during the service.

On the eight day of Christmas break my daughter

went to her first movie.

On the ninth day of Christmas break my daughter

ate breakfast for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

On the tenth day of Christmas break my daughter

helped me organize my closet in a most helpful way.

On the eleventh day of Christmas break my daughter

wore a striped dress with striped pants and looked good in it!

On the twelfth day of Christmas break my daughter

and I both remarked on how much we were looking forward to school starting back up!

What did you do during the 12 days of Christmas?

About Bethy

I'm a wife and mother who loves cooking and organizing and crafts! I blog about my various food intolerances and how I am always learning new ways to feed my family in spite of them! I am also a Lemongrass Spa consultant! Please contact me if you want more information about an awesome company! Thanks for reading my story!

8 responses »

  1. We LOVE the 12 Days of Christmas here! I feel like it really *helps* manage the excitement – because you don’t have to pack all your expectations into one day. For instance, a dear family member was unable to join us for Christmas Day, and despite her disappointment, my little girl said, “Well, we can see them on one of the OTHER days of Christmas!”

    We homeschool – so even tho we start back to school today, we’re still together 24/7 : )

    Like

    • I do love the concept of stretching Christmas out 12 days. It is a huge letdown to do all that planning for 1 day! Plus it gives me wiggle room to have time for making extra batches of cookies and extra Christmas projects that don’t ever seem to get done during Advent.

      I was homeschooled growing up except for 11th grade! I think my mom was a super hero! I loved it and hope to do it with my daughter at some point. I just know right now is not the time.

      Like

  2. This is a cute idea. I wish I had documented what my children did the 12 days of Christmas. I only really remember what happened on Christmas eve, Christmas day, and the day after Christmas, which were the days we had company. 🙂 We did have the tree up the whole 12 days. I took the tree down a couple of days ago. I hope you have a lovely January.

    Like

    • Thanks Jolene! Well I did use authors right to modify some things so it isnt all exactly what happened on the 12 days of Christmas. It is easy to forget in the mind numbing blur of everyday necesseties what happened even yesterday!
      Hope you have a lively January alsi!

      Like

Leave a Reply

