Comfort Food: Rice Pudding

Standard

Rice Pudding!

Rice Pudding!

During the winter my mom was always amazing at coming up with things to bake for long hours in the oven. One of those things was baked rice pudding and it was one of my favorites. However, the star of the rice pudding was milk and I had some difficulty in coming up with a suitable replacement. I already tried making this once this winter, but used all almond milk and it turned out gray. I will eat most things, but something gray notsomuch. My husband ate it though with lots of brown sugar on top!

After trying this tomato soup recipe it sparked an idea on how I could revamp the rice pudding to make it delectable. Instead of all almond milk I added in a can of coconut cream from Trader Joe’s and a can of full-fat coconut milk with just a tiny bit of almond milk. Ta-da! A super yummy dessert/breakfast that might even be better then the original and certainly doesn’t give me a tummy ache!

Rice Pudding
1 can coconut cream (I used Trader Joe’s brand)
1 can full-fat coconut milk
1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (you could probably use the original flavor also, but vanilla was what I had opened)
1 T earth balance or butter
1/4 cup white rice (brown rice does not work for this recipe)
1/4 cup turbinado sugar
1 t vanilla extract
1/4 salt
freshly grated nutmeg and ground cinnamon to taste

Rice pudding before being baked!

Rice pudding before being baked!

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease a 4 quart casserole (or slightly larger). Add the ingredients and stir. Place in oven. Cook for 2 1/2 hours stirring occasionally. Rice pudding is done when rice is cooked!

10 responses »

  1. I made rice pudding last night. Used the juice from a can of juice pack peaches for about half the milk — almond milk for the rest. Cut up the peaches and added to the finished pudding. I make mine on top of the stove but baking sure would be easier. Yours looks good.

    Like

    • OOo! That sounds so interesting Espirational! I never would have thought of using fruit juice. I will have to try it.

      Baking is lots easier! You just have to make sure you are going to be home for a good amount of time. Then you can keep an eye on it AND enjoy the nice warm kitchen from keeping your oven on for a couple of hours! It’s perfect for nasty winter weather.

      Like

    • Thanks! It is fun you know because I do enjoy eating. 😀

      That is true! I always thought that I didn’t like coconut, but thankfully that isn’t the case. I just don’t like a strong coconutty taste.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday, January 20th! | The Girl Who Couldn't Eat Anything

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Tuesday, January 28th! | The Girl Who Couldn't Eat Anything

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Tuesday, April 7! | The Girl Who Couldn't Eat Anything

Leave a Reply

