Homemade Apple Butter

Standard

apple butter 3I first thought about making my own apple butter when I opened a half eaten jar of store-bought and found all sorts of goop all over the top of the jar. From there I read the ingredients and I was just like why is there all this stuff in apple butter?

I had seen apple butter made before. It was over an open fire in a huge pot that took constant stirring and the better part of a day. I thought that maybe I could make some, but there was no way I was going to stand over a pot in the yard all day, so I began my search for a recipe.

After some searching I found one that I could modify to fit my needs and wants. So here’s the apple butter I make every year, sometimes for sale, and usually for Christmas presents.

Apple Butter

adopted from “Fix It and Forget It Cookbook”
  • 2 cups apple cider
  • 4 lbs. apples
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t allspice
  • 1 t cloves
  • Sugar to taste

Slice and core apples. No need to peel them!

 

Place apples and apple cider in a crock pot and cook on low for 10 hours. I usually do this overnight.

 

 

 

After 10 hours, stir the apples and add the spices and sugar if you are using. I find if I use a variety of apples (McIntosh and Yellow Delicious are my favorite combination) that includes some sweeter apples I don’t need to add any sugar. Stir everything together and cook for another 1-2 hours. Using an immersion blender blend everything together until smooth. Unplug the crock pot and let the mixture cool off a little. Carefully place the mixture into jars/containers and label. Refrigerate or freeze until ready to eat.

Makes: 5-6 1/2 pint jars worth

Notes: I use an apple slicer to make the coring and slicing go faster. If you decide to go the no sugar route just remember that your apple butter will spoil faster. The three of us have no problem eating a 1/2 pint jar full in a week or so before it goes bad. If you have a big deep freeze the frozen apple butter will stay good for at least a year.

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday, October 24! | The Girl Who Couldn't Eat Anything

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday, November 7! | The Girl Who Couldn't Eat Anything

Leave a Reply

