Menu Plan Monday December 28th!

Standard
Menu Plan Monday December 28th!

It’s been awhile since I posted a menu plan or anything in particular! Eating oatmeal at the beginning of November really threw me for a loop, but I am finally feeling better. Hopefully, somewhat back to normal again! I’ve been decluttering like mad this week, so I know I’m feeling better!

The theme for the Gluten Free Menu Swap over at Celiac Family is nuts and snacks! I’m still working while the rest of the family is on vacation, so I haven’t really thought of any nuts/snacks for the week. We’ll be eating from the pantry/freezer. I cleaned them out this weekend and found all sorts of stuff to stretch the food budget for the end of the month!

Dark chocolate quinoa bowl–still need to make this.
Vegan French Bread from “The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Bread”

Breakfast Cookies

Blueberry Muffins
Eggs

Lunch/Dinner:
hamburgers/chicken legs BBQ, corn, potato salad

Sweet potato, sausage, apple casserole
Waffles

Cheeseburger soup

Tomato Soup, grilled cheese
Leftovers
Smoothie and Popcorn
Pizza, salad

Healthy dessert: Not exactly healthy, but Forgotten Kisses

For more menu ideas check out Org Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday! Or for gluten-free menus check out Celiac Family and the Gluten Free Menu Swap!

5 responses »

  1. As the news has come out that so many of the brands of oats are NOT using purity protocol oats, I wonder how many are not really intolerant to oats but simply the gluten that is coming with these oats. I think a lot actually, so that might be the case with you. You might not want to rule out oats completely. Gluten-Free Watchdog (GFW) has a listing of the companies that use purity protocol oats. Purity protocol oats are the ones that are grown from pure seeds, in dedicated fields, processed on dedicated equipment from field to packaging, AND certified gluten free by a third-party inspection agency. When a company calls its products “certified gluten free,” but in reality does its own in-house testing, that is simply not legit. I mention that because the main source of “gf” oats for our community is not using purity protocol oats and calls its products certified gluten free, although they do their own testing. In addition, GFW has shown that 87% of products labeled gluten free contain less than 5 ppm gluten and if products are testing to less than 20 ppm (which is the legal standard, of course), I think that many of us (more than have been suspected) can’t tolerate that amount.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better and are happily decluttering (it’s so freeing and addictive!). Your week sounds tasty for sure! Thanks so much for linking to my flourless vegan “secret ingredient” cookies. 🙂

    Shirley

    Like

    • Thank you for all of that wonderful information Shirley! You are right because I tend to test differently for different products with oats. The product in particular was Lucy’s cookies and about a month earlier I had eaten them with no problem. However just to make things complicated I did eat out that night and had chicken which might have gotten cross contaminated and I also got way overheated which did weird things to me! And I just discovered this week that the swelling I thought was from food it actually from a tendon that is out of place. I love the cookies! They are super yummy. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

