Menu Plan Monday, January 20th!

Standard

We had a good week where we definitely cleaned out the fridge! I love that because I hate throwing anything away! It also means I get creative in using up veggies that just aren’t a favorite–maybe there were too many purchased for a specific recipe or something. Anyway, we’re starting out with a freshly emptied fridge!

The theme for the Gluten Free Menu Swap over at Gluten Free Week is leeks. I don’t usually buy leeks just because I don’t usually see them. I missed out on the farmer’s market this week because we were away so I didn’t have a chance to seek any out either. I’ll be looking for inspiration from others on this swap!

The APPETIZER from the dinner out when we were away this weekend!

The APPETIZER –shrimp in a coconut milk curry sauce with pineapple!– from the dinner out when we were away this weekend!

We had a nice time away and I enjoyed not cooking for the weekend! We had a microwave in our room and it was a novelty using it since we haven’t had one around here for a while. I enjoyed our dinner out a lot. We weren’t that hungry so opted for appetizers and a salad. I was glad I did because that was one of the hugest appetizers I have ever encountered! It was so yummy I will have to see if I can recreate it.

Sunday
Breakfast: Udi’s bagel with chocolate hazelnut butter, orange, and orange juice
Lunch: whole grain gluten-free organic tortilla chips, guacamole, grape tomatoes, homemade larabar
Dinner: fish with a raspberry vinegar and orange blossom honey sauce, roasted broccoli, mashed potatoes

Rest of the week:
Breakfast:
Eggs all kinds and all ways!
Detox Smoothie
Gluten Free Chocolate Muffins
Gluten Free Pancakes (leftover from dinner)

Dinner:
Breakfast for dinner: Gluten free pancakes
Spaghetti and maybe meatballs…spaghetti has gotten complicated with hubby wanting regular noodles, Princess wanting gluten-free noodles, and me wanting veggie noodles. With me requiring meat free sauce sometimes I don’t have the energy (or the stove space!) to make gluten-free meatballs also. So we might just have meat sauce instead this week!
Shrimp Scampi over gluten-free pasta (Don’t really have a recipe for this one, so if someone has a favorite feel free to share!)
Pizza, Salad
Mango Marriage Saver Smoothie, popcorn
Vegan Nicoise salad
fish, sweet potatoes fries, veggie
Leftovers!

For more menu ideas check out Org Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday! Or for gluten-free menus check out Gluten Free Week and the Gluten Free Menu Swap!

8 responses »

    • Well sometimes it takes a lot of thinking about! I just did the doors and later this week I’ll do the drawers. It’s easier to do it in little bits because sometimes I have an enthusiastic helper.

      Like

  1. Ever since Susan told me about your blog my gluten free ideas/dishes have taken off. I was finally able to make Mac & Cheese using Daiya with brown rice pasta shells and it was heaven. I can’t wait to try making the larabars from scratch!

    Like

    • Oh I am so happy to hear this Lady! Thank you for telling me! I am glad to help out someone else who can’t eat “anything.” 😀
      Those larabars are awesome! I almost wish I could overeat them, but they are very filling too!

      Like

Leave a comment